Gotham Awards 2014: The Nominees

In tradition of kicking off the awards season, the IFP has announced the nominations for the 2014 Gotham Independent Film Awards.

Executive Director of IFP Joana Vicente commented in a statement on the nominations saying “Each year the Gotham Awards honor the best work from our independent storytellers and help new audiences discover their work. We congratulate this year’s nominees, from the master film artists to the talented newcomers, a true representation of the rich and diverse range of today’s independent filmmaking, We are grateful to our nominating committees of film critics, journalists, programmers and film curators for their dedication to selecting the nominees from so many worthy submissions.

This year twenty-four films have received nominations along with the 15 films nominated for this years Gotham Audience Award. The winners of the Audience Award will be selected by online voting of IFP members between November 19th at 12:01 AM EST and November 26th at 5:00 PM EST.

The Gotham Awards ceremony will be held on Monday, December 1st at Cipriani Wall Street.

The complete 2014 Gotham Independent Film Award nominees:

Best Feature
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Love Is Strange
Under the Skin

Best Documentary
Life Itself
Point and Shoot

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Ana Lily Amirpour for A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night
James Ward Byrkit for Coherence
Dan Gilroy for Nightcrawler
Eliza Hittman for It Felt Like Love
Justin Simien for Dear White People

Best Actor
Bill Hader in The Skeleton Twins
Ethan Hawke in Boyhood
Oscar Isaac in A Most Violent Year
Michael Keaton in Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Miles Teller in Whiplash

Best Actress
Julianne Moore in Still Alice
Patricia Arquette in Boyhood
Gugu Mbatha-Raw in Beyond the Lights
Scarlett Johansson in Under the Skin
Mia Wasikowska in Tracks

Breakthrough Actor
Tessa Thompson in Dear White People
Riz Ahmed in Nightcrawler
Macon Blair in Blue Ruin
Ellar Coltrane in Boyhood
Joey King in Wish I Was Here
Jenny Slate in Obvious Child

Spotlight on Women Filmmakers “Live the Dream” Grant

For the fourth consecutive year, IFP is proud present the euphoria Calvin Klein Spotlight on Women Filmmakers ‘Live the Dream’ grant, a $25,000 cash award for an alumna of IFP’s Independent Filmmaker Labs. This grant aims to further the careers of emerging women directors by supporting the completion, distribution and audience engagement strategies of their first feature film.

Chloé Zhao, director, Songs My Brothers Taught Me
Garrett Bradley, director, Below Dreams
Claire Carré, director, Embers

Gotham Independent Film Audience Award
To Be Announced

In addition to the competitive awards, Gotham Award Tributes will be given to actor Tilda Swinton, director Bennett Miller and Industry Tribute recipient Netflix’s Ted Sarandos.

Posted in Awards, Gotham Awards