ASC Awards 2017: Winners List

Hollywood’s American Society of Cinematographers gathered Saturday, February 4th to honor the year’s outstanding achievements in cinematography. The 31st annual ASC Awards ceremony was held at Hollywood & Highland’s Ray Dolby Ballroom.

The previously announced honorees are, for the Lifetime Achievement Award Edward Lachman, for the Career Achievement in Television Award Ron Garcia, the International Award was presented to Philippe Rousselot, and the recipient of the Presidents Award is Nancy Schreiber. The ASC Vilmos Zsigmond Heritage Award winners are undergraduate Emmett Sutherland for Closer and graduate Andrew Jeric for Prisoner. The ASC Haskell Wexler Student Documentary Award was be presented to Colin F. Shepherd for Into the Microscope.

Denzel Washington was also presented with the Board of Governors Award. Previous recipients of the ASC Board of Governors Award include Ridley Scott, Barbra Streisand, Harrison Ford, Julia Roberts, Christopher Nolan, Warren Beatty, Francis Ford Coppola, Sally Field, Morgan Freeman, Ron Howard, Sydney Pollack, Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg. The Board of Governors Award is for filmmakers who have been champions for directors of photography and the visual art form.

ASC President Kees van Oostrum commented on the nominees at an earlier time saying “Each of the nominated films offers a unique vision on the part of the director of photography. These movies also represent a less formulaic or traditional photographic style, and some of their stories highlight socially conscious subject matter that drives a strong surge in photographic realism.

All recipients were first-time winners. Wagner was previously nominated for episodes of Game of Thrones in 2016 and 2015.

31st ASC Award Winners:

ASC Award Theatrical Nominees
Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS, Lion
James Laxton, Moonlight
Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC, Silence
Linus Sandgren, FSF, La La Land
Bradford Young, ASC, Arrival

ASC Spotlight Award
Lol Crawley, BSC for Childhood Of A Leader
Gorka Gomez Andreu, AEC for House Of Others
Ernesto Pardo for Tempestad
Juliette van Dormael for My Angel

Television Movie, Miniseries or Pilot for Television Award
Balazs Bolygo, HSC, BSC, for Harley and the Davidsons “Amazing Machine”
Paul Cameron, ASC for Westworld “The Original”
Jim Denault, ASC for All The Way
Alex Disenhof for The Exorcist “Chapter One: And Let My Cry Come Unto Thee”
Igor Martinovic for The Night Of “Subtle Beast”

Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television Award
John Conroy for Penny Dreadful “The Day Tennyson Died”
David M. Dunlap for House of Cards “Chapter 45”
Anette Haellmigk for Game of Thrones “Book of the Stranger”
Neville Kidd for Outlander “Prestonpans”
Fabian Wagner, BSC for Game of Thrones “Battle of the Bastards”

Regular Series for Commercial Television Award
Tod Campbell for Mr. Robot “”
John Grillo for Preacher “Finish the Song”
Kevin McKnight for Underground “The Macon 7”
Christopher Norr for Gotham “Wrath of the Villains: Mr. Freeze”
Richard Rutkowski for Manhattan “Jupiter”

Posted in ASC Awards, Awards